Little Pickles Logo

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the statutory framework that sets the standards that all Early Years providers must meet to ensure that the children learn, develop and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children are ready for school and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

For a parent’s guide to the EYFS, please read the document below:

MicrosoftOfficeWordEYFS Parents Guide

Daily Diary

The purpose of your child’s daily diary is not only to give a brief overview of what your child has been doing during the day but also to enable parent/carers and other childcare settings to contribute and inform us of anything they feel is relevant to the child’s wellbeing and development.

Each diary is different to take into account the child’s age and the settings they may be attending when not at home i.e. preschool/ nursery, other child minders, grandparents etc. Each person’s comments are greatly valued.

The diary is especially helpful when children attend different settings as it means we can all communicate with each other and work together to achieve the very best outcomes and to help your child progress through the EYFS.

By reviewing the diary and any observations made on a regular basis we will be able to assess your child’s development thus enabling us to plan activities tailored to their strengths, interests and developmental needs. It will also help us to see if your child is struggling in any areas.

Learning Journey

The child’s Learning Journey booklets celebrates their own personal development milestones, their unique achievements and stages of progress (between birth and 60 months). It will tell you about some of the activities that they take part in, and appropriate next steps in my learning. It will enable the child’s family to be fully informed about the child’s personal development as well as ensuring that appropriate information is available to other people, as and when the child moves up to ‘big school’ or another child-care setting

The Learning Journey contains evidence of the child’s learning across the key areas from the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. These are:

Prime Areas of learning

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas of learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These areas of learning are monitored by staff on a regular basis. On a half-termly basis, weekly observations are collated and highlighted on the statements sheets at the front of the Learning Journey to best reflect the child’s personal achievements.

This Learning Journey will include observations, examples of work, photographs, and comments from parents, carers or other settings.

Sun Safe Nursery

Official Sun Safe Nursery

Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years


Ofsted Outstanding
2006 | 2007

Ofsted Outstanding
2010 | 2011

Ofsted 2010-2011



ofsted outstanding logo